top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAfifa Ahmed

Traumatic Brain Injuries and New Findings

Over the past week, I have made significant progress on my original work project. More specifically, I started focusing my research on pre-existing conditions or social and environmental factors that can increase a person's risk or severity for getting a traumatic brain injury. I started off by finding out that if a person has a mental illness, like schizophrenia for example, or mental health issues, like depression or anxiety, that person is much more likely to get suffer from a TBI or much more adverse effects of TBIs. Those findings led me to an article about social circumstances that can lead to TBIs. People that are homeless or marginally housed are predisposed to suffering from a TBI simply because of their lack of healthcare options and lifestyle. I am planning on spending the upcoming week gathering all of my research for my research paper so I can work on compiling it into one over Thanksgiving Break, which starts this Friday. I am so excited to see how far I have already grown and the amount of knowledge I have gained reflected in my project.


This week, I am also planning on reaching out to one of the doctors I interviewed and ask them to be my mentor for the year. Hopefully, she will say yes and I can begin my mentorship after Thanksgiving Break!

See you after Thanksgiving,

Afifa

Recent Posts

See All

Here's to 2020... and 2021.

This week is the last week before winter break, and it is the final stretch. I finished my original work project last week, and I am pretty happy with how it turned out. My research paper ended up bei

Original Work Project

This past week, I have spent the majority of my time working on my original work project, which is due this Friday. I have made great progress, and this is the big week to show off all that I have lea

New discoveries

All through Thanksgiving break last week, I spent a lot of my time working on my original work project. Our due date is next week, and I made sure to take a break, but also leave minimal work for now.

bottom of page